Warrior (class)

From Ways of Darkness
Jump to: navigation, search
Language: English

Warriors are a class in the Ways of Darkness franchise, although unlike the other classes, warriors may not be considered a true proper class, but rather an umbrella term for any character who prefers raw strength and/or martial arts to overcome enemies rather than magic or stealth. This makes the definition of "warrior" a rather broad one, as it also includes the everyday city guards who roam cities, the various mercenaries who fight wars, a good chunk of the highwaymen and bandits, the barbarians who still refuse to live a civilized life, etc. All of these people are warriors.

As such, it comes to no surprise that this is the most populous class.

The Original FRPG

In the original forum-based RPG, being a Warrior requires at least a Strength of 10, an Endurance of 12 and an Agility/Dexterity of 9. Being a warrior grants basis knowledge of archery, swordsmanship, the usage of blunt weapons and polearms, as well as armour-wearing. Warrior has a large amount of dual-class prestige classes: being both Warrior and Magician allows to be a Battlemage, being both Warrior and Cleric allows to be a Knight, being both Warrior and Druid allows to be a Ranger. The special prestige class Bard is also unlockable for Warriors.

The Games: 2012 and 2013

In the video game adaptations of the FRPG, the class Warrior is akin to that of in JRPGs and early WRPGs - Warriors have the highest amount of hitpoints, base attack and defense. They can use every weapon and wear every armour, except ones specific to certain classes, races, characters or alignments.